Search form

Search all BPS schools

Click here on any page for easy access to the

You are here

School Board Elections

School Board Election

Tom Bennett, Jim Sorum, and Dawn Steigauf were reelected to their seats in the Nov. 7, 2017 election. Ric Oliva did not seek reelection and Beth Beebe was elected to the open seat. The terms of Beebe, Bennet, Sorum and Steigauf began in January 2018.

Click here to view the full election results.


Filings open on July 30, 2019, and close on August 13, 2019. Filings will be accepted at the Educational Services Center, 1350 W. 106th St., Monday-Friday from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. until 5 p.m. Aug. 13. The filing fee is $2.

Jennifer Hazel is the Deputy Clerk for the School Board election.  If you have questions pertaining to filing procedures or reporting, please contact Jennifer Hazel at 952-681-6421. 

For general information regarding School Board member responsibilities and activities, please contact Deb Bunkholt, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and the School Board, at 952-681-6402.

Qualifications for Voting and Assuming Office

Pursuant to the Federal and Minnesota constitutions, persons must be 18 years of age or older to vote; 21 years of age or older to assume public office. To qualify to vote or assume office a person must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of Minnesota for 20 days preceding the election and a resident of the school district. In addition, to assume public office, a person must be a resident of the district for 30 days. Preregistration is not required.

Return to: 
Link to Peachjar Newsletter

district Events