Search form

Search all BPS schools

Click here on any page for easy access to the

You are here

Education Foundation of Bloomington announces Prodigy Award winners

The Education Foundation of Bloomington has announced its Prodigy Award winners for the 2017-18 academic year: the Oak Grove Elementary School administrative team, the Transportation Office team, and the Poplar Bridge Elementary School fifth grade flexible math team.

Each year, the Education Foundation of Bloomington presents Prodigy Awards to staff teams whose outstanding teamwork improves the educational environment. This year’s teams will receive $500 and recognition at the all-staff Back-to-School Celebration in August.

The Oak Grove Elementary School administrative team is Principal Brian Cline, Donna Dupre and Alli Burrows. The team was nominated by an Oak Grove parent who said the team does an outstanding job communicating with parents, students and staff, and working with students with diverse needs and abilities.

The Transportation Office team includes Victoria Arroyo, Patrick Dragonite, Laura Eastridge, Shannon Fabick, Debby Gallup-Bergem, Lisa Grimit, Cheryl Larson and Ann Marie Terpstra. Bloomington Public Schools transports 7,000 students each day in addition to sports teams, field trips and various other student groups. The office staff is responsible for bus routing, daily driver assignments, vehicle tracking, and communicating with schools and district offices. The team works with students, families and bus drivers to make sure each student’s ride is safe and pleasant.

The fifth grade flexible math team at Poplar Bridge is Matt Marohn, Colleen Gunkel and Kelsey Maynard. The team designed a curriculum that gives students the flexibility to self-pace through the state math standards and makes learning more culturally relevant for the diverse student population. Results of a district matched-sample data study showed that students in the flex math program out-performed the matched sample by 39 percent.
Link to Peachjar Newsletter